The Wrong Side of the Bed


Not gonna lie… this morning… was rough.

Daddy didn’t want to get out of bed.
Graham got up fine… Anna… not so much.

It’s mornings like this that my wife tells me that it is so important to get our kids out the door on a good note.  We set the tone for their day. Her Mom taught her that… and I am grateful for this lesson… even if I fail at it.

Which is why when Anna and Graham both went through the phase of bringing us breakfast in bed… we praised them for it.  Even if we went through one box of cereal every 3 days.


Morning time is important.  Its important that we get out on the right side of the bed. Because when we do… it helps us to live for THAT day.

The Bible is clear on the morning time setting the tone for each day… Jesus went to a secluded place in the morning time to get alone and to talk to His Father.

Psalm 143:8 says
 8 Let me hear of your unfailing love each morning,
      for I am trusting you.
   Show me where to walk,
      for I give myself to you. 

David understood how important morning time is.

No matter where you are at in life… morning time always sets the tone for your day. Especially for our children… that’s why… every little bit counts.

Tanya put this note in Anna’s lunch bag the first day of school… even though Anna can’t read yet… it still spoke to her.

Our mornings speak to those we love… set the tone for your day in a way that it will encourage you to live for THAT day.

Today… I failed at this… but the beauty of morning… is it comes again tomorrow.

What do you do to set the tone for your day ?

What do you do to set the tone for other peoples day?

The Wrong Side of the Bed

4 thoughts on “The Wrong Side of the Bed

  1. Connie Chapman says:

    Hang in there dad–It will get easier……most of the time. I completely agree with you. Mornings are so important–it does set the tone for the day. Good luck tomorrow morning!!

Leave a comment