The End of Me.


whv6ujwyukyb7q_r-y5vua

The song on the radio on the way to work was,
“Touch The Sky” by Hillsong United.
The lyric was “I found my life… when I laid it down.”
As I drove… the thought that resonated within me was…
“Isn’t that the truth!?!”

About two weeks ago I announced to my church that
God was calling my family and I to start a church.
The area of the country that God has placed on
our hearts is New England.
The city is Portland, Maine.

Last week my wife and I went to Portland.
As we left… I said… “I’m 97% sure this is where God wants us.”
I was reserving 3% for my comfort.
I was reserving 3% for the unknown.
I was reserving 3 % for for me.

But yesterday and today I have learned something…
I cannot reach “the end of me” by holding on to 3%.

In the book of Matthew Jesus said…
“Don’t run from suffering; embrace it.
Follow me and I’ll show you how.
Self-help is no help at all.
Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self.”

In other words… lay your life down in order to discover what real life is.
This is our desire… to get rid of ourselves…
so that we can be who we were created to be.

The map above is one that I have saved
on my phone since the day I first laid eyes on it.
It breaks my heart… not because the answer is in attending religious services…
but because the answer is in a relationship that those “religious services” represent.

When I look at this map… I don’t see green.  I don’t even see gray.
I see life and I see death.
But in the death I see opportunity.
Opportunity for revival.
Opportunity for “the end of me.”
In the end…
it all produces life.

Now… I’m all in. 100%.
The Refuge Church is launching in the Portland, Maine area in September 2016.
If you have friends or family out there please tell them…
we’re coming… and we’re bring life with us.

Don’t procrastinate laying your life down… life is so much better when you do.

What does your 3% look like?

Lay. It. Down.

The End of Me.

Leave a Reply

