Painting Life’s Story


dreams

I tend to look at my life as a story.
The things that take place in my life are what make up my story.
Some things that take place in my life I love…
other things that take place in my life I hate.
Which brings me to the question…
who is writing my story?

There have been happenings in my life that as they are going on…
I do my best to predict what will happen next.
Most of the time…
I’m dead wrong.
Obviously… I’m not writing the story…
if I were… everything would happen exactly as I desired and predicted it.

But then I think about quotes like the one above…
as well as…
“We will never create anything more powerful of significant than our lives”
– Erwin McManus.

This is where the wrestling match in my brain begins.
Do I write my story?
Does God write me story?
Do we both write my story together?

When I begin to grapple with life…
there is only one place that I turn…
The Scriptures.

In Acts chapter 3…
Jesus is called the Author of Life.
In Isaiah 55, Isaiah says…
His ways are thoughts are nothing like our thoughts…
and His ways are far beyond anything we could imagine.

I’m convinced that God is in complete control of my life…
my story…
and the fact that I cannot predict the next chapter doesn’t give me a sense
of helplessness…
in fact it gives me a sense of peace.

Does this mean that quotes like McManus’ are wrong?
I don’t believe so…
because in God’s complete control…
I believe in His unbelievable grace…
He offers me choices along the way.
Choices that create my future.
Those choices are the paintbrushes of my life.

God holds the pen that composes the story…
but by His grace…
He gives me the paintbrushes to illustrate it.

Don’t be so wrapped up in predicting the how the story goes…
that you forget to paint a picture that illustrates how powerful the story is.

Don’t procrastinate painting your story.

Painting Life’s Story

Leave a Reply

