Making Old Ladies Laugh as They Pass Me By


eccl. 46

Yesterday was beyond a case of the Mondays…
it was just one of THOSE days…
it was brutal.

There wasn’t one bad thing that happened that made it a bad day…
it was just one that seemed like nothing could go right.

Well… something happened yesterday that I have to share…
for one… because of what it taught me…
for two… it is something that I have to laugh about… now.

My wife gave me some checks to cash totaling $70.
She also gave me a card to drop off at the Post Office.

Well… I stopped at the bank to cash the checks…
normally we just deposit our money…
but yesterday she specifically asked for cash.
I went through the drive up since I was in such a hurry.

When I got the cash I put it on the inside of my cell phone case
that looks kinda like this…

1392213943

My wallet / phone case doesn’t have a spot for cash…
so for the time begin… I just put it on the inside and threw it in the console.

My next stop was the Post Office.
Which is where the story gets exciting.
When I got out of the van that I was driving…
I dropped my phone…
the flap flung open…
right as a gush a wind hit my money sending it flying down US 51 South.

This was a one way street…
and I just so happened to find myself running toward on coming traffic…
chasing $70…
3 twenty dollar bills and a ten dollar bill.

Every time that I bent down to grab a bill,
I had to sandwich it between
my hand and the concrete so that it wouldn’t blow away…
and every time… I had to take my eyes off the other bills to concentrate
on that one I was trying to capture.
All while trying not to get hit by a car…
that would have been a REALLY bad day.

Thank the good Lord…
there was little traffic at this time…
all except for one little old lady that seemed to find my
chase of money down the center of US 51
hilarious as she passed by.

When it was all said and done…
I caught $50…
$20 got away.
So if you find a $20 bill in Centralia, Illinois…
please don’t bother sending a Thank You card.

My biggest fear wasn’t losing the $20…
my biggest fear was letting down my wife…
that had given me a simple task to do.
So you could imagine how I felt telling her this story.
But when I told her…
her response was…
“Oh well… someone needs it more than we do”.
Thank you Lord for a beautiful and understanding wife!

As I left the Post Office…
God reminded me of something…
The day before at church I had received a card…
with $20 in it.

God knew the wind was coming.
He knew I would lose that $20…
so He took care of it before hand.

I know that I am never going to be rich.
I’m completely okay with that…
for I am rich in many other ways than money.
But yesterday God reminded me…
if I’m not happy with that…
then… well…
I’m just chasing the wind.

Making Old Ladies Laugh as They Pass Me By

Leave a Reply

