Culture and the Christian


gym

Recently I did something that I never thought I’d do…
I joined a gym.
I’ve been going for a week now…
and in my week of going to the gym I’ve made a few observations that
have inspired me to write a new blog post.

My observations can really be reduced to one word…
Culture.

There is a definite culture that exist in a gym.
If you’ve ever been to a gym you know exactly what I am talking about.
It’s a culture that can very quickly become “me centered”.
That is a natural occurrence when you push yourself to mold and sculpt your
body into what you want it to be.
Most people go to the gym for themselves…
and because of that the culture can appear to be selfish.

But there is also the macho side of that culture…
that often times turns people off from going to the gym.
The macho side is what motivate Planet Fitness to implement the “Lunk Alarm”.
Here is a video to illustrate the “lunk alarm”.

Basically anytime someone grunts too loud our drops the weights an alarm sounds.
No one wants to be intimidated at the gym…
but the culture itself can be a bit intimidating.

These are just two cultural observations that I have made over that past week.
There are plenty more…
but I don’t really feel the need to write a book about gym culture…
I’m sure it’s been done.

While I was at the gym this morning I met the owner…
a very nice guy.
As I was talking to him…
I introduced myself as “the youth minister at Orchardville Church Centralia”.
Something that I do no do very often.

His response was “good… I would like to get more Christians coming in”.
A very “Midwest” response.
But his statement got me thinking about the culture that I have observed over
the past week and the Christians role… not just in it… but in culture in general.

I have found no better response to this question
than what Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians 9…
Even though I am free of the demands and expectations of everyone,
I have voluntarily become a servant to any and all in order
to reach a wide range of people: religious, nonreligious, meticulous moralists,
loose-living immoralists, the defeated, the demoralized—whoever.
I didn’t take on their way of life.
I kept my bearings in Christ—but I entered their world and tried to experience things
from their point of view. I’ve become just about every sort of servant there is in
my attempts to lead those I meet into a God-saved life.

Paul’s response is to become a servant.
Something that is the direct opposite of most cultures.

The Christians response to culture is simple… serve it.
Don’t procrastinate serving the culture you find yourself in.
Who knows… just maybe the culture around you will begin to change
because of Christ in you?


What is so difficult about being a servant?

Culture and the Christian

Leave a Reply

