Wonder


photo1

I recently read a quote,
“Having enough faith to wonder is an invitation to
extravagantly imagine what is possible.”

Wonder is cause for astonishment… admiration… awe.

This quote got me thinking… a lot.
I thought about faith.
I thought about life.
I thought about wonder.
I thought about worship.

I’m convinced that too many Christians lack wonder.
We have to have everything figured out.
We like clarity.

But why?
Is that really where God wants us to live?

Think about it…
Don’t you want clarity in life?
We all do.
Clarity is easy.
The unknown is what scares us.

When we live without clarity is when faith is required.
When we live in wonder our faith is stretched.

Donald Miller in his book Blue Like Jazz said,
“I don’t think there is any better worship than wonder.”
I would have to agree.

But where does wonder come from?
How do we arrive at a place of wonder?
I think the answer can be found in Romans 12:2.
2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world,
but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.
Then you will learn to know God’s will for you,
which is good and pleasing and perfect.

Transformation is what God wants for all of us
and transformation begins with wonder.
If I don’t want to stay the same…
I first have to admit that I am not happy with the way things are.
But look what happens when we are transformed…
we learn to know God’s will for our lives.

Once we find ourselves transformed…
we discover the possibilities found in the impossible.
The alcoholic that was a lost cause is now sober.
The blind now sees.
The prodigal has now returned to home again.

That is what wonder does…
it allows us to discover…
hope…
grace…
faith…
salvation.

When we procrastinate wonder…
we rob ourselves of the astonishing.
Stop robbing yourself of being astonished…
and wonder.

Do you have to have everything figured out?
If so… why?

Wonder

Leave a Reply

