Ready.


TCampLogo2014olBefore I get started in what I am about to write I would like to announce…
this is a very special blog post.
This blog post marks the 300th blog post that I have written.
I know.
I can’t believe it either.
I literally have gone to write something 2 or 3 times but then stopped…
all because, “it wasn’t worthy of the 300th post”.

But today… I want to write about something that is worthy of my 300th post…
Church Camp.

As a student minister… church camp is a HUGE part of what I do.
This Sunday will mark the beginning of this year’s version of church camp.
Rooted Rebellion is this year’s theme… the logo above is this year’s logo.
If my math is correct… this year will be the 23rd year of church camp for myself.

As camp quickly approaches…
this time of year I get asked one question more than any others…
“Are you ready?”.

I thought about this question a lot today.
Because really… it’s a lot more complex than it appears.
Being “ready” to me… means to stand by… to brace yourself… to anticipate.
But really… when we are talking about camp…
often times we anticipate but we don’t really know what we are anticipating.
We can anticipate God to show up and move…
and still have no clue what that is going to look like.

But to get ready… means to be prepared.
To be prepared is the check list…
the items bought…
the sermon studied…
the “what will this look like?”.

Being prepared is vital…
being ready is not.

So… am I ready?
No… I’m not.
But I think that is exactly where I need to be.
Prepared… but not fully ready for what God is about to do.

Christians often say…
“We want God to move.”
“We want to follow Him.”
“We want to trust Him.”

But really…
if we were fully ready…
would it require much trust?

If we knew what we are about to embark on looked like…
how much trust would we need?

When we aren’t fully ready…
that is when we need to trust God the most.

I am not ready for what God is about to do in the lives of the students I work with.
But I trust Him that He is going to do it…
and I am anticipate that God is going to change some lives this week.

If you find yourself not ready today…
I hope you can find confidence in knowing that you are
right where you are supposed to be…
and TRUST God.

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior”

– OCEANS by Hillsong United.

 

Ready.

2 thoughts on “Ready.

  1. Mark says:

    Your 300th blog is being read in this Middle East country today by someone who wasn’t “ready” but came prepared. Your quoting the Hillsong Oceans is perfect. That song has been my theme as I prepared and as I have served during my time here. And God has shown up and worked in my heart during this commitment. May The Spirit of God change attitudes, actions and apathy in the hearts of all that are connected with the camp this week. Mark

Leave a Reply

