Compromise


943209_10151676974239467_1222370225_nMy kids love sports…
check that…
my son loves sports.
Anna tolerates them.
But they both love being with their friends.
They both love being apart of community.

My kids deserver community…
they deserve to have friends…
they deserve to be able to play sports with their friends.
But they also deserve to go to school with their friends…
go to church with their friends…
and go to birthday parties with their friends.

Community happens in different places and different contexts.
Some places where community happens is more important than others.

Last night I received a text message from Graham’s baseball coach informing
the parents that all of this year’s games will be played on Wednesday nights.
As a minister… I wasn’t happy.
Not only do I want my son to not have to choose between sports and church…
but I want to be able to watch him play.

Eventually it was going to happen.
Sports and church were going to interfere with each other.
It always happens… especially the older that kids get.

I was taught at an early age to set a standard
and do not compromise from that standard…
in a lot of things… not just with church.
I remember in the eighth grade playing football… my games were on Sundays.
My parents were adamant that I would not miss church.
Most of my games were at 1 pm or 2 pm…
some were out of town…
but in all the years I played football games on Sundays
I did not miss one game because of church…
nor did I miss church because of football.

The standard of no compromise was something that was planted in me at an early age.
Now that I am a parent…
I know how hard it was on my parents to set that standard and stick to it.
It’s a difficult task…
especially when everyone else seems to be making compromises.
But if I want my son to know what it means to set a standard…
if I want my son to know how it feels to not compromise…
then I have to be willing to stick to the standard I have set…
and all I can do is pray that God takes care of it from there…
just like He did for me in the eighth grade.

I called the league that decided to schedule games on Wednesday nights.
I didn’t want to make a huge stink about it…
so I simply asked for my money back
and told them why we were pulling out of the league.
They know we are leaving because they scheduled games solely on Wednesday nights…
they weren’t willing to compromise…
neither were we.

So I made a phone call to my friend that is the High School coach
in the town we moved from about 20 minutes from where we live.
They do not schedule games on Wednesdays…
they may reschedule rain outs on Wednesdays…
I can live with that.
I made a request to see if he could get us in that league.
He did.
I will register Graham later today for that league
and Graham will know why he is switching leagues…
because standards are important…
and compromise is not an option.

When you set a standard that matches God’s standard…
He takes care of you.
Always.

Procrastinate compromise.
Do not procrastinate sticking to a standard.
It’s worth it.

What do you think is so difficult about sticking to a standard?

Compromise

Leave a Reply

