Quiet Is Violent


A great song is a lot like a great book…
when you hear one… you have to share it.
I like to share music on my blog from time to time…
but the songs I like to share are songs that a lot of my readers
may not have heard of.
I hope that’s the case with the song that I want to share with you today.

Here recently I have fallen in love with songs that tell a story.
Songs like Cop Car by Keith Urban and…
the recent youtube hit, “His Daughter” by Molly Kate Kestner.
The song that I  want to share with you today has a story to tell.

The song is Car Radio by a band known as Twenty One Pilots.
Twenty One Pilots is a very intriguing band.
Their newest album is entitled “Vessel”.
Their “about” section on their website speaks of
pushing through happiness to finding joy in belief.
I would never accuse a band of being “Christian” that is not…
however… I love the message these guys are sharing…
a message to cause people to think.
Thinking is something that our world needs to do more of…
and these guys promote thinking to a generation that desperately needs to think more…
especially about faith.

The song “Car Radio” does just that…
in the form of a story about a guy that gets his car radio stolen…
and is forced to sit in silence.

Here is my favorite version of the song…
don’t be turned off by the ski masks…
I promise…
it’s worth it.

Some of my favorite lines are…

“Sometimes quiet is violent”…

“I hate this car that I’m driving
There’s no hiding for me
I’m forced to deal with what I feel
There is no distraction to mask what is real”…

“One thing consists of consistence
And it’s that we’re all battling fear
Oh dear, I don’t know if we know why we’re here
Oh my, 
Too deep
Please stop thinking
I liked it better when my car had sound”

“Peace will win
And fear will lose
There’s faith and there’s sleep
We need to pick one please because
Faith is to be awake
And to be awake is for us to think
And for us to think is to be alive”

Who knew that getting your car radio stolen could lead to thinking…
Why are we here on this earth?
But that’s the great thing about Twenty One Pilots…
all their songs are full of lyrics that make you think…
make you think about…
fear…
purpose…
hope…
and even faith.

Regardless of if you like their sound or not…
Twenty One Pilots is a band that you need to know about.
They have a lot of potential to make a huge impact on a generation…
a generation that you and I could never impact.

So today I want to thank Twenty One Pilots for
reminding us not to procrastinate thinking…
because to think is to be alive.
To think… it to live for today.

What bands / songs are you listening to?
What is a song that you love because it tells a story?

 

 

Quiet Is Violent

Leave a Reply

