What Are You Looking For?


Well… it was another eventful morning in the Herald house.
Last time it was Graham and his basketball escapade.
This time it was Anna and an escapade with a cowgirl hat.
Only… Anna is a female… so immediately
this escapade becomes a lot more dramatic.

This week at the kids’ school they are honoring a girl with cancer.
Her name is Macie…
At my kids’ school they have a dress code…
well for this week only if they bring a dollar
they get to dress like something Macie would like.
Today was dress like a cowboy or cowgirl day.

Anna had it in her mind that she wanted to dress like a cowgirl…
she planned it out perfectly…
she had the boots…
the blue jeans…
the plaid shirt…
and the cowgirl hat.
There was only one problem…
No one had seen the cowgirl hat in two years.
It may have fallen victim to Mom’s last purge… who knows?

So this morning Anna began a search…
which is when I snapped this…

photo1-2

This was in her brother’s closet…
the toys on the floor are a result of
Anna tearing through his toy basket.
When I walked in she was standing on the dresser looking on his shelf.
She was on a mission…
find that hat…
and when she didn’t accomplish her mission…
she was devastated.

When I dropped Anna off at school this morning she was crying…
as a parent… I hate that.
I try to make it my mission every morning to see that
my kids get a great start to their day.
Which is why I stopped at the gas station to get them
donuts this morning on my way home from the gym.
But Anna “wasn’t hungry”.
All she cared about was that silly hat!

Her mom told her that this week isn’t about looking like the best cowgirl…
this week is about Macie… and Anna was making it about Anna.
Her dad told her she was allowing a silly hat to ruin her day…
and a hat isn’t worth a bad day.

Every morning on the way to school I pray with my kids…
I feel that it’s an important time with them…
it helps me accomplish my mission.
This morning as I prayed… obviously I prayed for Anna…
and then… God gave me an idea for a solution.
But it would require dropping her off at school and then returning with a hat…
so that is exactly what I did…
and this was the result….

photo2Mission accomplished.

The spiritual implications in this story are many.
We all search… and search… and search… for fulfillment.
But there is only one thing that can truly fulfill us…
that one thing is the very reason we were created…
to worship our Creator.

But the implications go even further…
because you see we also have a Father in Heaven that has a mission…
and He too will not allow many things
to get in the way of Him accomplishing His mission.
His mission is your redemption…
your heart…
your worship.
But the only thing that He will allow to get in the way of His mission…
is you…
your choice…
your free will.

I could have told Anna no.
God tells us no often.
But today…  I could do something to fulfill her search…
so I did what was necessary to rescue her day.
There will be escapades in her life that will be out of my hands…
so for now… I will rescue the ones that I can do something about…
and praise God that he will take care of the others.

So wherever it is that you find yourself searching today…
please know that you have a Father that wants to
help you find fulfillment in your search…
all it requires is your heart.

If you’d like to know more about how to find this fulfillment…
please feel free to email me at adamherald@gmail.com

What Are You Looking For?

Leave a Reply

