“I Meant It”


This past Sunday night our student ministry hosted a Super Bowl party.
I’m still recovering… and it’s Thursday.

We had great turn out.
We had a ton of food… all brought in by some amazing volunteers.
We had a ton of fun.
And thank God I had some great help…
because there were some moments of craziness.

I believe with all of my heart that the Super Bowl presents an amazing opportunity
to youth pastors across America.

Every time I do a Super Bowl Party we skip out on the halftime entertainment.
So this year we missed out on this….

Pepsi Super Bowl XLVIII Halftime Show

Every year we do different “programing” for halftime.
This year we played an interview with 5 Seattle Seahawks.
I had a feeling it could be powerful…
but I had no idea just how powerful.

After the video…
I got up to give an invitation to receive Jesus.
It was a pretty basic invitation…
at the end of the prayer I said if you said that prayer and meant it…
come up and meet me on stage before you go out to finish watching the game.

As the kids all stood around on stage…
I stood there and tried to count…
but after about 5 I decided it would be easier to count the names written down.

As I was standing on the stage…
I had a girl named Caroline walk up to me.
With tears in hear eyes and her voice shaking…
she whispered in my ear…
“I meant it”.

That was a moment that I hope I never forget.
Because it’s the “I meant it” moments that keep me going.

As the night came to an end…
there was a young man that had ridden our van…
that had gotten upset because he had misplaced a hat that he had worn.
He thought that someone had taken it…
so he went crazy.

Throughout the course of his outrage he yelled some pretty mean things.
The “F-word” was one of the words that he used.
“Get off the effin van!”
Of course we didn’t tolerate this behavior…
but we realized there were much bigger issues there…
issues that if we mishandled this situation…
we’d never have the opportunity to tackle.

Eventually we found his hat…
and the world was at peace once again…
at least at peace enough to take him home.

As I sat and reflected on the night…
I realized…
It’s easy to focus on the moments of craziness.
The “get off the effin van” moments.
But if we focus on those moments…
we lose.

It’s the “I meant it” moments that we have to focus on.
The “I meant it” moments are why I got into student ministry in the first place.
Although I have learned…
you can’t run from the “get off the effin van” moments…
because if you do…
you’ll never make it to the “I meant it moments”.

At the end of the night…
there were 19 names written down.
All because we were willing to put up with a little craziness.

Why do you think it’s easier to focus on the moments of craziness?

“I Meant It”

Leave a Reply

