Dad to The Rescue


This Sunday is the big game…
like THE BIG GAME.
You know the biggest football game of the year?

Well if you don’t know what I’m talking about…
you probably know it as the only night of the year
that you WANT to watch the commercials on T.V.

I always get into the game more than I get into the commercials.
However, this year I took a glimpse at some of the commercials
that will play on Sunday Night.
This one got my attention…

I think it’s because I’m a dad…
and every dad will be able to relate to this commercial.
It doesn’t matter if you have a boy…
or a girl.
But let’s be honest…
we all know why the kid in this commercial is a boy.

boysBeing a dad is my second best title.
The first… husband.
Because if I’m not a good husband…
I could never be a good dad.

I don’t expect to ALWAYS be able to save the day for my kids…
but I can try.
Because it’s when I don’t try that they are most disappointed in me.
They don’t expect me to be able to save every day…
because let’s face it…
I won’t be able to save every day…
but they DO expect me to try.

There will be moments…
when I can do nothing.
I. HATE. THOSE. MOMENTS.
The worst feeling in the world is feeling helpless…
especially as a dad.

In those moments of helplessness…
in those moments of failure…
I must rely on my Heavenly Father…
to save the day.
He’s a lot better at being a Dad than I am.

He teaches me to be a better father…
without His guidance…
I would fail a lot more.
I must rely on Him…
so that my kids will rely on Him.
If I fail at that…
I fail as a dad.

Don’t procrastinate relying on our Heavenly Father…
He’s a much better Dad than you are.

What is the best thing your dad ever taught you?
Do you have a story about when your dad saved your day?

Dad to The Rescue

Leave a Reply

