From Hero to Zero in 20 seconds


Bieber

We all have heroes.
They come in all different varieties.
When it comes to heroes we have a lot of choices.
We could choose the “superhero”… the “everyday hero”… or the “celebrity hero”.
Either way… we look up to our heroes.

By definition a hero is “a person who is admired for great or brave acts or fine qualities”.
The only requirement to be a hero is to be admired.
With that standard alone… we are destined for disappointment.

Recently… our culture has been let down by a few people
that some may see as heroes.
Joe Paterno.
Lance Armstrong.
Alex Rodriguez.
And recently…
Richard Sherman and Justin Bieber.

People that for whatever reason we have admired.
Just last night Justin Bieber was arrested on DUI charges.
My daughter will be crushed.
Richard Sherman on Sunday night yelled at television cameras
after the AFC Championship game.
I really didn’t have much of a problem with Mr.Sherman’s actions.
But judging by the reaction on social media… many in America did.
Richard Sherman’s interview lasted twenty-six seconds.

I tell my students all the time…
that character wins.
When we are known for good character…
eventually that will rise to the top.
But unfortunately in todays’ society it’s become easy for our heroes to fail.
We have high expectations for heroes… and we should…
but one bad choice is made in just 20 seconds or less.

I recently read a quote that Archie Manning told Peyton growing up…
“It can take twenty years to make a reputation, and five minutes to ruin it.”
Great advice… that I wish more celebrities would heed to.

But the question that I ask myself today is this…
Is it the “heroes” problem… or my problem?

At the end of the day…
we all have the same problem…
sin.
We are all going to fail.

As long as our heroes are human beings…
we will continue to be let down.
Which is why I prefer my heroes to be divine.

Colossians 1:13-14 MSG
God rescued us from dead-end alleys and dark dungeons.
He’s set us up in the kingdom of the Son he loves so much,
the Son who got us out of the pit we were in,
got rid of the sins we were doomed to keep repeating.

Jesus is the only person that has truly rescued me.
He rescued me from the greatest problem that I have ever faced…
and while I still struggle with that problem…
He continues to rescue me.

I want a hero that will never fail…
not it 5 seconds…
20 seconds…
5 minutes…
eternity.

I want a hero that can never fail.
That is why I choose Jesus.
Don’t procrastinate choosing Jesus.
He’s the only hero you will ever need.

Why do you think we elevate celebrities to “hero” status?

From Hero to Zero in 20 seconds

Leave a Reply

