The Brave Winter of 2014


photo-6

The winter of 2014 will be one that we will always remember in Southern Illinois.
It’s been responsible for about 20 inches of snow…
about 9 or 10 days out of school resulting in an extra loooooong Christmas break…
millions of dollars spent in snow removal…
and plenty of frost bite, I’m sure.

Snow is a funny thing…
we love it in December…
we hate it by the end of January.

There is a popular song out right now called, “Let Her Go”…
by a band known as Passenger.
One of my favorite lyrics is, “Only miss the sun when it starts to snow.”
It’s so true…
we desire summer the most in the winter…
we desire winter the most in the summer…
we always want what we don’t have.

We can learn a lot from snow.
I think that is why the Bible mentions it so many times.
Many of the times it is used as a metaphor
to compared something as being “as white as snow.”
Pure.

This picture was taken out my bedroom window the morning after the storm…

snow

It’s so beautiful… and white… and pure…
that is until my dog does this…

snowwithBOne of my favorite mentions of snow in the Bible is in a story about a man named…
Benaiah son of Jehoiada.
The Bible doesn’t say much about Benaiah…
except that he was one of David’s mightiest warriors…
and he chased a lion into a pit on a snowy day… and killed it.

When I picture that snowy day…
I picture days like this past Sunday.
12 inches of snow…
coming down in blizzard like conditions.
When everyone else is staying warm and toasty inside by the fire place…
Benaiah was a brave warrior… a hero.

The blizzard of 2014 has paralyzed many.
Hibernation has become the norm.
But heroism doesn’t happen in the normal…
if it did… we’d all be heroes.
Heroism happens when we let go of the normal and
become relentlessly abandoned to courage.

Winter 2014 has taught me to be brave.
At times… I think I am never more brave than in the moments I spend with my kids…
and if I’m not brave… they know it… they can smell fear.

Get outside… and build a snow man with your kids…
laugh with your kids… climb a snow bank with your kids.
They won’t remember the comfort of the fire place…
like they will remember the conquering of that giant snow bank.

The warmth is coming…
and with warmth comes the melting.
When the snow is gone…
remember to be brave…
your kids will always remember how brave you were.
I promise.

Don’t procrastinate bravery… even in the summer time.

Who is the bravest person you know?
What makes them so brave?

The Brave Winter of 2014

Leave a Reply

