No Problem with XMAS


xmas

Today I thought I would dig up an oldie but a goodie for our #TwelveDaysOfChristmas…
here is a re-post of a post that I had written two years ago…
I still feel the same way today as I did then.

What is wrong with the picture above?
Nothing.

Now… normally I like to stay away from posts like these.
However… in the spirit of conversation and Christmas… I will allow it.

One thing about God that amazes me is His Sovereignty.
I don’t understand God’s Sovereignty because I am not Sovereign.
Sovereign in it’s most basic of meanings is unrestricted power or supreme.
God is limitless.

In His Sovereignty He understands things will happen before they happen.
God knew that people would attempt to take Him out of Christmas.
His plan… make it so they can’t.

Some people have a problem with the word “Xmas”.
I do not.
Here is why…
In the Greek language the Chi that looks like this…

GKCHI-2

is often used to abbreviate the the name Christ.

If you take the first two letters of the name “Christ” you come up
with Chi and Rho.
The two Greek letters form what is called a “Chi-Rho”.
A symbol that is also used to represent Jesus Christ.


People can say Happy Holidays.
That doesn’t offend me.
It shouldn’t.
They should be able to celebrate what they want.
We do live in a free country.
Which is why the cashier should be allowed to say Merry Christmas if she wants to.
And the person responding should be allowed to say “And a Happy Hanukkah to you”.
It’s the beauty of America.

Does it sadden me when people don’t celebrate Christmas?
As a believer is Jesus Christ… absolutely.
It should.
But celebrating Christmas isn’t about unwrapping presents on Christmas morning.
And it’s not about what I say to the clerk as I check out at the grocery store.
Celebrating Christmas is about one man… Jesus Christ.

Happy Holidays… Merry Xmas…. Happy Hanukkah.
God planned it all.

1 Corinthians 2:6-86
Yet when I am among mature believers,
I do speak with words of wisdom, but not the kind of wisdom that belongs
to this world or to the rulers of this world, who are soon forgotten.
7 No, the wisdom we speak of is the mystery of God—
his plan that was previously hidden,
even though he made it for our ultimate glory before the world began.
8 But the rulers of this world have not understood it;
if they had, they would not have crucified our glorious Lord.

Whatever you choose to celebrate this Holiday Season…
I hope it’s full of joy.
I hope it’s full of laughter.
I hope it’s full of family.
And of course… I hope it’s full of Jesus.
After all… that is what Christmas is all about.

Merry Xmas!

How are you celebrating Jesus this Holiday Season?

Please share #TwelveDaysOfChristmas

No Problem with XMAS

Leave a Reply

