Christmas Is Here


Christmas

Before Thanksgiving… I am a Scrooge…
just ask my wife and mother-in-law.
Then again… immediately following Halloween
those two are Christmas angels on steroids.
But that’s for another post…
Today is December 3rd… which according to my calculations… is after Thanksgiving.
Which means… the Christmas season is officially among us.

I have to admit… it snuck up on me this year… it snuck up on all of us.
You have to watch out for Christmas… it can be very very sneaky.

As Christmas quickly approaches… I have so many thoughts racing through my mind.
This year’s overwhelming thought for me has been on “The Coming Messiah”.
What that meant.
What that means.

The Messiah has come.
The Messiah is coming again!

I believe that with every ounce of my being.
This Christmas more so than past Christmases.
I think a lot of people find themselves scared by that…
and I think that is okay…
but right after the fear…
we must find courage.

James 5:7-8
7 Dear brothers and sisters, be patient as you wait for the Lord’s return.
Consider the farmers who patiently wait for the rains in the fall and in
the spring.
They eagerly look for the valuable harvest to ripen.
8 You, too, must be patient.
Take courage,
for the coming of the Lord is near.

When that day comes… it will be far greater than any Christmas
any of us have ever experienced.
That is why I cannot wait for that day…
because it will truly be the greatest day of…
my life…
your life…
our lives.

That day… will be a lot like Christmas.
It will sneak up on us… just like Christmas does every year.
We will see Jesus… just like on that first Christmas… only in all His glory.
That is when Christmas will truly be here.

Let’s not procrastinate having courage.
Courage in knowing that Jesus is returning someday soon…
and in that moment…
we will be joined with the One who gave us the greetst gift
anyone has ever given.

I pray that you all have a wonderful Christmas season…
don’t get caught up in the hustle and bustle…
always remember Who we celebrate.

Does Christmas always seem to sneak up on you?
If so… what do you do to get in the Christmas spirit?

If not… how do the rest of us avoid the sneakiness of Christmas?

Christmas Is Here

Leave a Reply

