Longevity


photo-6This is my grandma… Grandma Sommerlad.
She’s never been Nana… MawMaw… MeeMaw… or Grams… just Grandma.
She’s a pretty basic gal… most of the time.
She’s part of the reason I can’t procrastinate.

This past Saturday we celebrated her 90th birthday.
We had as much of a blast as a 90 year old could have in a rehabilitation center.
She recently had hip surgery… her hip is still very weak… but her spirit is not.

While I was at her birthday celebration… I met her friend Barbara.
She is 99 years old.
Grandma met Barbara at her previous assisted living facility.
She now lives 2 hours away… Barbara made the trip to celebrate with my grandma.
Because that’s what friends do… even at 99.

Their friendship amazed me as I watched.
There was 189 years between the two of them.
There is a lot of wisdom in 189 years.
I’d be foolish not to observe.

As I watched… I discovered…
Love.
Purpose.
Determination.

Love.
I do not need to explain the love that I saw…
you can see it in the picture above.
My grandmother was truly touched that her friend came to see her…
and that made everyones day… to know that you are cared for that much…
how do you ignore that?

Purpose.
There were a few things that Barbara said that caught my attention.
The first thing she said…
“The Lord must have something else for me to do before He takes me home.”
Her daughter stated maybe it was just to be a good friend for Jeanette.
(Jeanette is my grandma)
For that… I say… “Thank you Lord… for Barbara.”

God has a purpose for each of us…
even you… and the beauty of that…
you don’t have to sweat trying to fulfill it…
He fulfills it for you!

Psalm 57:2-3
I call to God Most High,
to God who fulfills His purpose for me.
3 He reaches down from heaven and saves me,
challenging the one who tramples me.
God sends His faithful love and truth.

Determination.
As I spoke with Barbara I asked her one question…
“What would you tell people the key is to longevity?”
Her answer…
“Put one foot in front of the other.”
Mind blown!
So simple… yet so profound… and all it’s gotten Barbara is 99 years.

I love that answer.
We all have days when it’s difficult to put one foot in front of the other.
We all have days when we can’t get enough motivation to get out of bed.
But you don’t live to be 99 years old if you never get out of bed.
You have to be determined.

Be determined to live for today.
Don’t worry about 2 or 3 steps down the road… just worry about the next one.
It’s the most important one.

Don’t procrastinate putting one foot in front of the other.
Don’t give up…

live for today.

When it gets difficult to put one foot in front of the other…
what motivates you to do it anyway?

Longevity

Leave a Reply

