The Journey of Life


Every once in a while mainstream music gets it… even if it’s on accident.
I don’t like the word “secular” so much… so I call it mainstream.
But just so you know… I am referring to music that is not faith based…
if I must spell it out… it’s not Christian.

I don’t always like to segregate the two… secular vs Christian.
I guess it just seems too?
Segregated.

The video above is a song that is called “Wake Me Up”.
I enjoy the song… a lot.
The above is the radio version…
there are other versions like an acoustic version…
and even a reggae version.
No matter how I listen to it… I really enjoy it.

This version is done by a Swedish DJ that goes by the name Avicii.
The vocals however… which is really the reason I love the song…
are done by a dude named Aloe Blacc.

There are a lot of meanings to this song…
just do a quick google search and you will find a bunch of possibilities.
Having dreams.
Life.
Finding yourself.
Immigration.
Aloe Blacc uses the song to raise awareness for “immigration laws” in his acoustic version.

As I listen to mainstream music… I always try to find the good in it…
and this song it’s not hard to find a good message in it.

1 Peter 2:9-11
But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood,
a holy nation, a people for His possession,
so that you may proclaim the praises
of the One who called you out of darkness
into His marvelous light.
10 Once you were not a people,
but now you are God’s people;
you had not received mercy,
but now you have received mercy.
11 Dear friends, I urge you as strangers and temporary residents to abstain
from fleshly desires that war against you.
12 Conduct yourselves honorably among the Gentiles,
so that in a case where they speak against you as those who do what is evil,
they will, by observing your good works,
glorify God on the day of visitation.

Is it just me… or does this Scripture sound a lot like the video above?

Two young ladies… sisters… out of place… in darkness…
lost… only to find happiness… once they discover where they belong.

People… called out of darkness… to discover mercy…
mercy that God gives… only to find themselves as aliens…
strangers to this world… called to bring glory to God.

Feeling my way through the darkness
Guided by a beating heart
I can’t tell where the journey will end
But I know where to start

This life is a journey…
a journey of searching and discovery.

If only Christians would wake up and discover…
we are strangers to this world… people see us as strange…
we’re different… or at least should be… and that is okay.

If the “lost” would just wake up and discover it’s
mercy and grace that they are looking for…
and they can find it in Jesus Christ.
I think they would discover happiness and freedom…
much like is seen at the end of this video…
although probably not in the form of a rave like atmosphere.
If you are searching and would like to know more about that…
please contact me.

These are the things that go through my mind…
I just thought that I would share them today.

I hope as you go through life…
that you discover that it has meaning…
and it all begins with living for today.

Do these types of things go through your mind when you listen to music?

What is a song that has meaning to you?

The Journey of Life

Leave a Reply

