Plans… even at 3 A.M.


483252_10151366084719467_431386823_n

This is what my 7 year old is supposed to look like at 3 A.M.
But that was not the case last night.
Instead she was at my bedside… twice.

The second time she was there she said something like this…
“Daddy… why is it God’s plan for me to be afraid?”
She had just had a nightmare.
Fortunately for me she came to my side of the bed.
Her mommy had night terrors when she was young…
so she’s a sucker for the “I had a nightmare” story.
Same reason she empathizes when Graham comes in and says,
“My legs hurt.”  She had “wicked bad growing pains” growing up.
But Daddy on the other hand…
he is a grouch at 3 A.M and no way is he getting kicked in the face 5 times
for the sake of empathy.

Before you think I’m completely heartless…
let’s return to that question that Anna asked me…
“Daddy… why is it God’s plan for me to be afraid?”

Great question… especially from a 7 year old…. AT 3 A.M!!!
My response…
“Anna… God’s plan for you isn’t to be afraid. That doesn’t come from Him.
The Bible says… God doesn’t give us the spirit of fear…
but power… love… and a sound mind.
Now go back to bed and be powerful.”
She responded… “Daddy… will you pray for me?”
I said… “Of course, sweetie.”
So I prayed.
My eyes never opened.

As I flipped back over to return to my slumber…
my wife said… “That was good, babe.”
I said… “Hmm… I didn’t know you were listening.”
I guess even at 3 A.M… I’m still a “preacher”…
and I can preach with my eyes closed.

2 Timothy 1:7
For God has not given us a spirit of fear,
but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

Today… I hope that you can find rest in knowing that God has plans for you.
Anna finally did.
His plans for you do not look like anyone else’s plans… for you or for themselves.
The plans that He has for you… are for you and you alone.

They are plans that do not include things like fear.
They do not included destruction.
They do not include evil.

His plans are prosperous.
His plans are full of hope.
His plans are beautiful.
He calls you… “His Masterpiece.”
You are the greatest thing that He ever created…
that’s what a masterpiece is.

Ephesians 2:10
10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus,
so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Procrastinate fear.
Procrastinate whatever it is holding you back
from accomplishing God’s plans for you.

Be His masterpiece today… because that’s what you are.

What do you fear that most?

 

Plans… even at 3 A.M.

Leave a Reply

