Urban Legends. Fear. Treasure.


HauntedHouse1-2

Urban Legends.
When I was in college there were a few places in town you would go for a good scare.
The Albino Farm.
The Acid Tunnel.
The Girl Scout Woods. (Camp Winoka)
All three had stories… stories that made each place scary.

The only one that I went to was the Girl Scout Woods.
The story was that years ago there were girl scouts at this campground that got murdered.
I remember seeing an old bus… an old pool… and a few buildings.
The story wasn’t true… but even if it were true… we didn’t really have a good reason to fear.

Fear.
We have this perception of fear… a perception that tells us fear is a weakness… unhealthy… bad.
Even when churches speak of fear as in “the fear of God”… we downplay it to mean respect.
Really!?!?  Respect?
I did not respect the woods that I feared were infested with girl scout ghosts.
I. Feared. Them.

Fear and respect are completely different.
It’s time that the church starts calling fear what it is…
Fear. Dread. Terror.

I think we say things like “Fear just means respect” because we don’t want God to seem scary.
But the Bible is pretty clear that fear of God is fear… a lot like I experienced in those woods.

Treasure.
Isaiah 33:6
In that day he will be your sure foundation,
    providing a rich store of salvation, wisdom, and knowledge.
    The fear of the Lord will be your treasure.

“The fear of the Lord will be your treasure.”

I believe when I see God face to face some day… I will be terrified.
Terrified of how unworthy I am to be in His presence.
Terrified of His Majesty.
Terrified of who He is.
That is a real reason to fear.

But then… I believe He will say to me… the same thing that He said to Isaiah.
Isaiah 44:8
“Fear not, nor be afraid;
    have I not told you from of old and declared it?
    And you are my witnesses!
Is there a God besides me?
    There is no Rock; I know not any.”

My treasure is the security that I find in Him.
He calls me His child.
He calls me His friend.
I am His.
There is nothing more comforting than knowing that I belong
to the very One that has the power to destroy me… and that HE loves me…
HE cares for me… He protects me… and because He protects me… He is the only one left for me to fear.

Don’t procrastinate the Fear of God.
It leads to wisdom.
It is your security.

What is something that you are genuinely afraid of?

How can you fear of God… help you live for Him?

Urban Legends. Fear. Treasure.

Leave a Reply

