One Gift I Wish Everyone Possessed


einsteinquotesDiscernment.
It’s a big word…
a word that we don’t use often.
It means… “the ability to judge well.”

Judging well would consist of not repeating mistakes.
When I read the Albert Einstein quote above…
I read… “Do not make the same mistakes”.
But it’s even deeper than that.
It’s about the way we think.

I have this fear…
this fear that we have quit thinking.
We make decisions without thinking about the consequences…
everyday.

But the problem is we face consequences for our decisions…
everyday.

We live in a world that tells us to think for ourselves.
I get that.
It’s great to think for ourselves… I encourage that.
But what is wrong with taking a look at those that
have made the same choices before you?
Are you still thinking for yourself when you look at history to make decisions?
Is using discernment “free thinking”?

Discernment in my life is looking to God’s Word for guidance for every decision I make.
For that reason… most people would say that I am not a free thinker.
But if it saves heart ache and pain… who really cares if they are a free thinker or not?
Discernment says… I will judge based on what is best for me…
and best for me does not include heart ache… pain… turmoil.

The Bible has a lot to say about knowledge… wisdom… and discernment.
Proverbs 8:11-13a
For wisdom is far more valuable than rubies.
Nothing you desire can compare with it.
12 “I, Wisdom, live together with good judgment.
I know where to discover knowledge and discernment.
13 All who fear the Lord will hate evil.

I hope that I have followers of this blog that their discernment doesn’t look like mine does.
If all my followers think the same way I do…
am I really having much of an impact with what I’m writing?
I don’t think so.
Because this is what discernment does…
it gives you the freedom to hang out with people that aren’t exactly like you are.
Because you know at the end of the day…
you are going to do your best to judge well…
even when others around you are not.

When I was growing up…
my parents wanted me to hang out with “good kids”… “Christian kids”.
As a parent… I get that… but you know what I desire for my kids more than
them hanging out with “good kids”?
That they use discernment and use good judgement.
I want my kids to make wise choices.
Because I can’t give my kids fine rubies…
but if I can teach them to be wise…
I have made them wealthy.

Don’t procrastinate good judgement and live free.

What does discernment look like your life?

What or who do you look to when you have a difficult decision to make?

One Gift I Wish Everyone Possessed

One thought on “One Gift I Wish Everyone Possessed

Leave a Reply

