Why I Can’t Procrastinate…


Grandma

Recently my grandmother fell and broke her hip.
She is 89 years young and will be 90 on November 16th.
She’s an amazing woman.

I love her… a lot.
Recently she has taught me why I can’t procrastinate.
She may not know it…
but she has taught me how important it is to live for today.

I haven’t always been sure of my grandmother’s faith…
until recently I asked her about it…
when she assured me that her faith was in Jesus.

Over the past few weeks…
I’ve witnessed her faith grow.
Recently I visited her in the hospital…
her first words to me were… “Will you pray for me?”
I knew what she meant… so we prayed… right then… right there.

I love praying with my grandmother… for my grandmother.
I know that she hasn’t always understood my calling.
I know that she hasn’t always understood church.
I know that she has had her doubts.

But now I… as I watch her fight… I see her faith shine through.
It may not have always been visible… but it’s there.
As I ask myself why… how… when…
I realize…
her faith has been strengthened by witnessing my faith…
my mom’s faith…
my family’s faith.

I can say that today I understand a little better what the Apostle Paul meant when he said…
“Believe in the Lord Jesus and you will be saved, along with everyone in your household.”
in Acts 16:31.

Our faith does not save them…
their faith saves them.
But the work of Christ through our salvation…
helps… a lot.
How can people that we are so close to not see the work of Christ in our lives?
But. We. Still.  Must. Live.
As we live it… they see it… and God does the rest.

Today I am reminded why I even started writing this blog in the first place…
Romans 13:11-13a
“This is all the more urgent, for you to know how late it is;
time is running out. Wake up, for our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed.
The night is almost gone; the day of salvation will soon be here.
So remove your dark deeds like dirty clothes, and put on the shining armor of right living.
Because we belong to the day, we must live decent lives for all to see.” 

It’s time we start living decent lives for all to see…
let’s put on that shinning armor of right living…
not for you…
for those you love.
Life’s better that way.

Who is watching you live your faith?

Why I Can’t Procrastinate…

3 thoughts on “Why I Can’t Procrastinate…

Leave a Reply

