Rockstars… Artists… and Pastors


ImageFirst things first… I must apologize.
I am terribly sorry for my Houdini act.
I disappeared there for awhile… sorry it was unannounced.
I really have no excuse for it… I guess I just needed a break.
But I am learning…
I. Need. To. Write.
Just. As. Much. As. You. Need. To. Read.
I missed you guys.

Since I came to my church three years ago
God has blessed me with the opportunity to meet a few “rockstars”.
I’ve met Jacoby Shaddix the lead singer from Papa Roach.
I’ve met the guys in the picture above from Finding Favour
and become good friends with them.
I recently met some of the guys in Hawk Nelson… The Afters… and Building 429.
All rockstars… even though most are “Christian rockstars”.
All great guys.

These guys would not call themselves “rockstars”.
They would call themselves “artists”.
An artist is a person that creates.

I think some pastors could learn a lot from this.
I’ve seen pastors that think they are “rockstars”.
It’s their show.
It’s their party.
It’s their way or the highway.
All of which are things that I think of when I think of a rockstar.

Last week I was preparing for a sermon.
As I wrote…
I created… but I created with a greater purpose in mind.
The purpose of creating something God wanted His people to hear.

Check out Ephesians 2:7-10
7-10 Now God has us where he wants us,
with all the time in this world and the next to shower grace and kindness
upon us in Christ Jesus. Saving is all his idea, and all his work.
All we do is trust him enough to let him do it. It’s God’s gift from start to finish!
We don’t play the major role.
If we did, we’d probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing!
No, we neither make nor save ourselves. God does both the making and saving.
He creates each of us by Christ Jesus to join him in the work he does,
the good work he has gotten ready for us to do, work we had better be doing.

The greatest Artist in the universe has ever seen is God.
He created grace.

When I write… I pray that it’s His creation through me.
When I preach… I pray it’s His creation through me.
Something that every minister needs to happen for Him to use them.
Stop being the rockstar.
Be an artist… but make sure that it’s Him creating… not you.

Why is it so difficult to remove ourselves from the creations God gives us?

Are you a rockstar… or an artist?

 

 

Rockstars… Artists… and Pastors

2 thoughts on “Rockstars… Artists… and Pastors

Leave a Reply

