Your Everything


photo-5I realize Father’s Day was almost a month ago…
but this is a story that I have to tell.
For one… it makes me proud.
For two… it teaches me a valuable lesson… therefore I believe it can do the same for you.

Father’s Day began like any other Sunday.
My wife and I got up… started the coffee… bushed our teeth… got dressed… got the kids up.
It took the kids about 30 minutes before they said “Happy Father’s Day, Daddy”.
It may have only been 10 minutes… but because they were words that I longed to hear…
it seemed like an eternity.a

As we ate breakfast I awaited my Father’s Day gifts… not having any idea what they had gotten me.
I anticipated a shirt or something typical for Father’s Day… what I got was so much more.
Not from my wife… but from my daughter… Anna.

After my wife had handed me the gift from her and the kids… Anna walked up to me and said…
“Here Daddy… It’s all I have.”
It wasn’t a card… she drew me one of those later.
It was a one dollar bill and a quarter.

My heart obviously melted but the lesson God was teaching me didn’t stop there.
Later on in the day I had somehow managed to collect another dollar and some more change…
that night after Anna was in bed I thought I would return her dollar without her knowing.
When I discovered that I had more money in my pocket…
I gave her all of it… $2.75.

As I gave it to her it hit me…
That’s exactly what God does for us when we give Him all we have…
He gives back to us… more than we had given to Him.

Luke 21:1-4
He looked up and saw the rich dropping their offerings into the temple treasury. 
He also saw a poor widow dropping in two tiny coins.
“I tell you the truth,” He said. “This poor widow has put in more than all of them.
For all these people have put in gifts out of their surplus,
but she out of her poverty has put in all she had to live on.”

My daughter reminded me of that widow.
She reminded me of what happens when I give Jesus all that I have…
not just my money… but my time… my talents… and my most valuable possessions.
He deserves all of it… and all of it He will have.

Don’t procrastinate giving Jesus your everything…
if anyone deserves it… it’s Him.

What are you holding on to that Jesus is begging for?

Why is it so difficult to let it go?

How can we help you give it to Jesus?

 

Your Everything

Leave a Reply

