Hoarding


hoarders-logo-i11

Hoarding.
It comes in all different shapes and sizes.
It comes in different forms.
But the result is always the same.
Chaos.
Paralyzation.
Confusion.

I have recently made a discovery in my own life.
I’m a hoarder.
I don’t hoar things.
I hoard time.

I value my time.
But valuing something can be a tight rope.
If you value something too much…
you begin to worship that thing.
If you devalue something…
you can waste it.

I don’t want to worship my time.
I don’t want to waste my time.

I read something today that I believe can help me with my hoarding problem.

It’s 2 Corinthians 9:8-11

8-11 God can pour on the blessings in astonishing ways so that you’re ready for anything and everything,
more than just ready to do what needs to be done. As one psalmist puts it,
He throws caution to the winds,
giving to the needy in reckless abandon.
His right-living, right-giving ways
 never run out, never wear out.
This most generous God who gives seed to the farmer that becomes bread
for your meals is more than extravagant with you.
He gives you something you can then give away,
which grows into full-formed lives, robust in God,
wealthy in every way, so that you can be generous
in every way, producing with us great praise to God.

God doesn’t want me to hoard my time.
He wants me to give it.

God doesn’t sit there and think about giving…
He just does… with reckless abandon.

When I give… it doesn’t matter what it is…
it produces in me great praise to God.
That is why it is so important to not hoard the things God gives us…
we must give them away.

Do not procrastinate giving.
Your life will be full of praise when you do.

What do you hoard?
What does God want you to give away today?

Hoarding

Leave a Reply

