Boston You’re My Home


pray_for_boston_by_glp215-d61wu9o
For 27,000 people yesterday began as a one of the most challenging days of their lives.
For the rest of us…
it ended that way.

We will never forget April 15, 2013.
It was supposed to be a day of triumph…
accomplishment…
celebration…
victory.

Instead it ended as a day of devastation…
discouragement…
defeat…
and even death.

I was not raised in Boston…
my wife was…
and because of that…
Boston is now a part of me.

We have family that lives there.
We have friends that live there.

When I first heard the news that two bombs had gone off at the Boston Marathon…
my heart hurt.
It was like getting news that your son or daughter is being picked on at school…
only worse.
Usually you can do something about bullies…
but this was out of my hands.

I got word that all our family is okay.
I have not heard of any friends being effected.
I have hope for them though.

Since then I have done a lot of thinking.
27,000 people is a lot… it’s more people than live in my town.
That is the number of people who ran in the Boston Marathon yesterday.
That is 27,000 people who trained for the race of their lifetime.
The guy that planted those bombs had no respect for that training…
He wanted to ruin that and for many he did.
He had no respect for life…
so he took lives… and tried to ruin others.

After the dust has settled in Boston…
the only people that can determine if it will ruin lives is us.
If human beings resolve to not allow darkness to win…
this world will be a much brighter place.

Psalm 119:81 says…

I am worn out waiting for your rescue,
    but I have put my hope in your word.

The Psalmist here wrote that God’s Word was what gave Him rescue.
It times like these…
that is where we must turn.
God offers us hope…
it’s found in His Word…
it’s found in His Son.

I think the verse above sums up how a lot of people feel after yesterday…
worn out…
awaiting rescue.
That is okay.
But today I want you to know…
REDEMPTION WINS.

God wants you to know that a song can rise out of these ashes…
all you have to do…
is sing.

I don’t sing very well…
so I made this video for you.
I hope you enjoy it.

Go tell a friend that Redemption Wins.

What were your immediate thoughts after the events in Boston on April 15th?

Boston You’re My Home

2 thoughts on “Boston You’re My Home

  1. Kyle Rose says:

    I have a lot of trouble dealing with random acts of violence. I have trouble comprehending the hatred and mentality that it requires to kill and injure people you don’t even know. Innocent people. Not war, not criminals, not even personal enemies, but random men, women and children. An 8 year old died violently in the streets.

    I realize that people all across the world deal with this on a daily basis while we, as Americans, live a basically safe and sheltered life. At one time, I felt no sympathy for those that live in those regions, but as time has gone on, it breaks my heart.

    So I want to offer prayers for those in Boston, the victims, the families, the volunteers and emergency services. I pray that some find healing, others peace, and most of all, eventually, justice for these terrible acts of terrorism.

  2. Kyle…

    I will admit that I rushed the end of this post. Everything that you said is exactly what I did not take the time to talk about. It’s the more difficult stuff.

    No one understands why these things happen… when that is often the first question asked. The bottom line is when it’s all said and done God is in control and He is where our hope comes from.

    Man is sinful and in a world full of sin there are a lot of variables in the mix.

Leave a Reply

