We Are All Witnesses


photo-5When I was a kid it was Barry Sanders.
I loved him.
I had his jersey.
He was my idol.

Now it’s my sons turn…
for him it’s Lebron James…
He has his jersey.
Lebron is Graham’s idol.

I will never forget the day that Graham revealed to me his love for Lebron.
We were watching tv… and this commercial came on…

How could a 5 year old resist?
Lebron looks like the coolest guy on the planet in that commercial.
In that moment… I discovered… that I too… can like Lebron.

Prior to that…
I found myself in the camp that wasn’t a fan.
Mainly because of  the whole spectacle that was “The Decision”.

At the time I felt like it was full of narcism on Lebron’s part…
but my son…
he saw past the narcism…
and saw a Superstar.

This past week…
I was informed of a student that we haven’t seen at youth group in a long time…
he hasn’t been back because his dad is in the camp that “isn’t a fan”.
This young man had just given his heart to Jesus.

After my son told me of his love for his favorite superstar…
we made sure that he got a Lebron jersey for Christmas…
thank you Uncle Billy.
Graham now wears his Lebron jersey 4 out of 7 days in a week.

I find it funny that Nike tagged Lebron with this slogan…
“We are all witnesses.”

Because Graham “witnessed” to me about Lebron…
I have accepted Lebron as a superstar.

Check out this verse in Acts 2:32-33
32 “God raised Jesus from the dead, and we are all witnesses of this
33 Now he is exalted to the place of highest honor in heaven, at God’s right hand.

We are all witnesses of what God has done through His Son… bringing us salvation.
I wish that all parents would accept Jesus as their superstar…
especially after their kids come home from youth group telling them
about their newly discovered love for Him.
But it doesn’t always work out that way…
which is why we must continue to press on…
we must realize that it is our job to reach families with the Good News of Jesus Christ…
not just the kids…
but the parents too.

Don’t procrastinate being a witness…
not of Lebron James…
but of Jesus Christ.

What is the most difficult part of being a witness for you?

We Are All Witnesses

Leave a Reply

