When Boo Boo Trucks Show Up


There is nothing that can illustrate just how fragile life is…
like witnessing a bad automobile accident right before your eyes.

This was yesterday….
photo-3My pastor… his wife… and myself were driving to our church.
We were following this box truck.
My pastor pointed out the swerving that was going on…
two minutes later he said…
“THERE HE GOES!”
There. He. Went.

Eventually that incident led to this…

photoAnd anytime I see a scene like this… I think about life.

My kids call it a “boo boo truck”.
But let’s be honest… when the “boo boo truck” arrives at a scene like this…
normally it’s for more than a boo boo.

I praise God that this man was not only okay… but he seemed completely fine.
I called 911.
My pastor and his wife ran over to see how the driver was…
all that was needed was a knife…
to cut off his seatbelt.
That seatbelt saved that man’s life… I am convinced.

Anytime I see a box truck drive into a ditch at 60 mph and flip end over end…
this passage comes to mind…

James 4:13-15
13 Look here, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we are going to a certain
town and will stay there a year.

We will do business there and make a profit.” 
14 How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow?
Your life is like the morning fog—it’s here a little while, then it’s gone. 
15 What you ought to say is, “If the Lord wants us to, we will live and do this or that.”

No one knows what tomorrow will bring.
That is why we must live for today!

When was the last time you were reminded how fragile life is?

How do you respond to knowing that life is fragile?

When Boo Boo Trucks Show Up

2 thoughts on “When Boo Boo Trucks Show Up

  1. Tina says:

    Although I am convinced that when it is your time to go, it is your time to go . . . My son was wearing his seat belt as well. All the paramedic had to do for him was unhook it and pull him out of the seat. It didn’t make any difference. It was his time and I have finally come to accept this. It just wasn’t this person’s time.

    1. Tina…

      Thank you for reading… and thank you for the input. You are absolutely right. Life is only a vapor… a fog… here one second… gone the next. I am so sorry for the loss of you son. I pray that God gives you peace and comfort that only He can give… and in situations like this… it has to come from Him.

Leave a Reply

