What Working with Orphans Has Taught Me About God


James 1:27
27 Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for
orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.

Recently I have started working with orphans.
Even though the church that I work at is located in Centralia, Illinois
the orphans that I speak of are not these orphans…

CtownOrphans
In fact even though I have found my Secret Place
the orphans that I speak of don’t look like this either…

larefrata

The orphans that I speak of look more like this…

SAMSUNG
I do not work with the kids in this picture…
I am not allowed to post pictures of them.
However… I work with this organization…
and I love it.

I feel like there are orphans in our very own country that often times get over looked.
That is why I post this picture…
Not all orphans live across the world.
They are in our own backyard.

Working with orphans has taught me so much about Our Father’s love.
This is my attempt to vocalize some of those lessons…

God doesn’t force us to love Him.
Kids that have no parents have been hurt…
they are guarded…
they don’t give love easily.
But when unconditional love is given to them… through sacrifice…
they respond.

No matter how many times I mess up…
God’s love doesn’t give up on me.
There have been many times that I have wanted to walk away from some of these kids…
but I can’t… because that’s not love…
and because God doesn’t walk out on me…
so how could I walk out on them?

God’s love is long suffering.
I have had these kids lie to me more in the past 6 weeks than I have been lied to in the past 6 years.
But I still cannot stop loving them…
Because that would not be like God’s love for me.
This also puts more pressure on me to be 100% truthful with them at all times…
Because God’s love is truthful…
no matter how many times I lie to him.

God doesn’t force me to make right choices
The more I work with these kids…
the more I realize that I cannot force them to make good choices.
If I force them to make good choices…
their choices do not last very long.

When I reject God’s love for me… it hurts Him.
There is no pain as agonizing as rejected love.
Yet God experiences it all the time.
A culture of human beings that He gave everything He had for…
rejecting Him.

These kids like to run…
they like to “be free”.
When they run… it hurts.
It hurts because I know the best place for them to be is in the care they have been appointed.
But that’s not what they want…
they want to be free.
Sometimes it is best for them to find out for themselves that freedom is not always best.
When they come home…
where they are received with open arms…
because that’s what God’s love does.

Today I understand why God’s Word says…
Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father
means caring for 
orphans…
because when we do…
we begin to understand His love for us just a little bit more than we did before.

Don’t procrastinate discovering the Father’s love for you!
When you discover it…

don’t procrastinate sharing it.

What Working with Orphans Has Taught Me About God

Leave a Reply

