Pain Killer


This morning I woke up with a knot in my back.
It’s one of those knots that causes your head to hurt.
Up the shoulders…
up the neck…
to the skull.

When it comes to pain…
I tolerate it.

The most amount of pain I have ever been in was when
I busted my ankle in 5 places on a jet ski.
But even then… it only felt awkward.
Until the next day… I laid in my hospital bed
with 10 pins of titanium holding my leg together…
that was when it was most painful.

But even that pain…
doesn’t compare.

It doesn’t compare to the pain of heartbreak…
it doesn’t compare to the pain of depression…
it doesn’t compare to the pain of brokenness.

We all experience pain.
But what we do with our pain is what makes us who we are.

It can motivate us…
it can give us a sense of accomplishment…
but it can also destroy us.

Most of us would do anything…
just to make the pain go away.

When I am in the most amount of pain…
the smallest  of things can soothe it.

A hug from my kids.
A note of encouragement.
A pat on the back.
These are my pain killers.

But sometimes…
my pain gets so severe…
that even the greatest amount of morphine cannot do the trick…
and in those moments…
I discover who I really am.

In those moments…
He is enough…
Because in those moments…
if I didn’t have Him…
I would break.

2 Corinthians 4:8-10 says
We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed.
We are perplexed, but not driven to despair. 
We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God.
We get knocked down, but we are not destroyed.
10 Through suffering, our bodies continue to share in the death of
Jesus so that the life of Jesus may also be seen in our bodies.

Knowing that He never abandons me…
tells me I am going to make it.
He is my morphine… only better.
He takes the pain away.

When you are in your greatest amount of pain…
don’t procrastinate seeking Jesus…
He is greater than any pain killer on the market.

What is causing you the most amount of pain?
How can we pray for you?

This week… has been a painful one… I don’t think I would have made it without Him.
Thank You Jesus for helping me through it.

Pain Killer

3 thoughts on “Pain Killer

Leave a Reply

