A Post for the Single Ladies


One day she will kill me for this.
But I hope that on that day…
She will realize that the lesson here is greater than the embarrassment.

Last night… I had a talk with my six year old little girl.
It’s one that I hope she never forgets.

She started it off…
“Daddy… you and Mommy are perfect for each other.”
I responded with…
“Well thanks Anna… remember to never settle for a boy that is less than perfect for you.”

Then she said…
“Don’t worry daddy… I will find a boy that sings to me…
you know… like you sing to Mommy.”

I am a horrible singer…
but her mommy loves it when I sing to her.
Not because of my Luther Vandross vocal abilities…
but because it’s me.

Every time I bust out a serenade to my wife…
her little ears are listening.

I reminded her…
“Never tell a boy you love him… until you know he loves you like I do.”
She said…
“Daaaad… I know.
You say that all the time.”

One thing I understand…
the second most important decision she will ever make is who she will give her heart to.
I must show her the kind of man that will never break it.

He sings to her.
He loves her.
He leads her.
He prays for her.

She is able to be her self around him…
even if that means chowin down on some Baby Back goodness.
She respects him.
She follows him.
She prays for him.

As her father…
I cannot procrastinate showing her what a Godly husband looks like…
because some day…
she will choose hers…
and on that day…
I hope she knows…
He loves her as much as I do.

Ladies… what are you looking for in the man that you will give your heart to?
Dads… what are you doing to show your little girl the kind of man she should give her heart to?

A Post for the Single Ladies

Leave a Reply

