Irritable Moments


What is something that gets you irritated?
You know…
that one thing that just gets under your skin no matter what?
What is it?

Maybe you can name it…
maybe you can’t.
It may be something you have control over…
it my be something that you have no control over.

Kinda like this picture.
This picture illustrates control over irritation.
The advertisement is for “toasted tobacco”…
supposedly it does not cause an irritated throat.
But I have a better idea if you don’t want an irritated throat…
how about you not smoke?

But sometimes… irritation is caused by things out of our control…
irritated at the decisions of other people…
irritated by work…
irritated by our kids.

There are times when irritation is inevitable.
In those irritation moments…
the question is…
how do you react?

These irritable moments remind me of how short I fall.
Short of God’s glorious standard.

The Bible says in the book of Exodus chapter 34 …
“Yahweh! The Lord!
    The God of compassion and mercy!
I am slow to anger
    and filled with unfailing love and faithfulness.
I lavish unfailing love to a thousand generations.
    I forgive iniquity, rebellion, and sin.”

So in my irritable moments…
I pray that I am more like Him.
Slow to anger… filled with compassion and mercy.

Because I know… if God were human…
I would irritate Him… daily.
But instead of irritating Him…
I inspire Him.
I inspire Him to show compassion… love… and mercy.

As you live for today… procrastinate anger in those irritable moments.
However… do not procrastinate compassion… love… and mercy.

What is something that makes you irritable?
What makes it so difficult to find inspiration in our irritation?

Irritable Moments

One thought on “Irritable Moments

  1. Susan says:

    Very relevant for me lately! Doesn’t take much to make me angry. But when I look back later at my anger… Many times I was just angry at me!! Thanks for the insight.

Leave a Reply

