The Gift of a Smile


A few weeks ago I watched this very funny video on ragamuffinsoul.com.
It inspired me.
No… I didn’t start hugging everyone that I saw… although… I think it would be fun.
However… it challenged me…
challenged me to simply brighten someone’s day… everyday.

In his speech at the Big Ten Conference meetings in Chicago…
The University of Michigan’s Quarterback, Denard Robinson said…
“My motto is: It’s my goal to make somebody’s day every day.”
It’s difficult not to like someone with a motto like that.

I thought about the video above…
I thought about the Robinson quote…
and then I read today’s verse of the day…

I believe that Philippians 2:3-4 can make this world a much better place…
if only I lived it every day… thinking of others more than myself.

If I only had one mission…
Give everyone a gift…
the gift of a smile…
this world would be a much better place.
It would at least be a happier place.

Will I succeed every day?
Probably not…
But if all I do is attempt to live this way…
I will be a much happier person.

I’m reminded of a song that one of the most Godly men I have ever known…
Rev. Jim McCarty used to sing…
If you’re happy notify your face…
take that frown off put a smile in it’s place
If you love Jesus… tell it to the human race.
If you’re happy notify your face.

It was fun… and it made people smile.

Today’s Challenge to you is simple…
make someone smile.

Don’t procrastinate giving the gift of a smile.

What is your favorite way to make someone smile?

The Gift of a Smile

Leave a Reply

