That Voice


 

Voices.
We all hear them.
No… we are not all schizophrenic.
But we all have an inner voice.
It’s not always audible.
But we hear it.
We know it.
It’s ours because it belongs to us.

That voice when we are crippled in fear.
That voice when we are joyous in victory.
That voice when we when we are devastated in failure.
That voice when we push through our desire to give up.

My wife shared with me a quote that she had read the other day…
The way we talk to our children becomes their inner voice.
– Peggy O’Mara

This is a quote that I have not been able to shake.
I wonder who’s voice my son heard when he thought he was going to die on this roller coaster?
Was it mine?
What was it saying?
Was it saying… “You’re gonna die on this ride kid!!!”?
Or was it saying… “You can make it! It’s almost over!”?

This quote has changed the way I speak to my kids.
Because when they are crippled in fear…
I want them to hear…
“You can move because I am right here with you.”

John 10:27 says…
“My sheep hear My voice, I know them, and they follow Me.”

But it get’s better than that….
because in 1 Kings 19:12 the Bible tells us what God’s voice is like…
“And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.

As I speak to my kids today…
I pray that it is like His.
Still.
Small.
Gentle.
Caring.
Loving.

Don’t procrastinate having a still small voice.
Don’t procrastinate listening to God’s still small voice.
You’re kids will thank you later.

What helps you remain quite in times of intensity?
Why is it so difficult to hear God’s still small voice?

When you hear it… you know it… because it’s His.

 

 

That Voice

Leave a Reply

