Growing in The Stand


I’m always looking for growth.
Growth is a sign of good health.
Growth is the sign of maturity.

But growth is not always easy.
Growth is painful.
But growth is productive.

As I think about yesterday…
I think yesterday was an opportunity for growth.
Not just for myself…
But for the evangelical Christian in America.

I say “opportunity for growth” because some will grow exponentially.
However… some will stay right where they are.

As we reflect on the bombshell that exploded into a frenzy known as “Chick-Fill-A Day”…
I think it’s imperative that we grow from it.

I discovered quickly…
“Chick-Fill-A Day” was something that Americans were passionate about.
Either you loved it…
Or you hated it.

My encouragement today is that we grow from it.
Whichever side you find yourself on…
Grow.

I posted yesterday about The Stand.
I still believe that there is a time coming that Christians will need to take a stand for Jesus.
However… here is how I have grown in this…
Our stand… must be done in grace.
The same grace that has been shown to us…
should be shown to others.

As I reflect on “Chick-Fill-A Day”…
I wonder if grace was shown.

On my way to work this morning I heard a song.
Thanks to the redundancy of Christian radio it was one I had heard numerous times.
But in light of yesterday’s events… I heard it differently this morning.
The song….

I’m not a huge fan of the video…
but that’s for another post.

Here were some of the lyrics that really stood out to me this morning…

When a heart is cold as ice 
You can’t melt it with advice 
No one wants to listen to 
A list of things they shouldn’t do 
So I build a city on a hill 
And I light a candle on the sill 
Knowing you’ll be always knocking at the door 
Oh God I just want to love on everyone 
All I have is yours to give so let the people come 

It’s so much brighter living in your world 
Savior what you did for me 
You gave me something I want everyone to see 
When we stumble and it all goes wrong 
Only you can make it right 
So I say oh oh oh oh oh 
I’m learning to be the light 
whoa, whoa 
I’m learning to be the light 
whoa, whoa 
im learning to be the light 

And this brings me to the words of Jesus in His sermon on the mount…

Matthew 5:14-16
14 “You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden.
15 No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand,
where it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your good deeds
shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father.

I can’t help but to ask…
were my deeds good yesterday?
And that is where I begin to grow.

Don’t Procrastinate growth… as painful as it may be… it’s healthy.

What is the most difficult part of growing for you?

Growing in The Stand

2 thoughts on “Growing in The Stand

  1. Kay Shell says:

    I don’t feel that yesterday’s events at Chick Filet were a stand against homosexuality. I believe that is was a stand FOR freedom of religion and freedom of speech. I’m bothered by the fact that I see America increasingly becoming a nation that is intolerant of any voice that has a Christian worldview. It’s scary to think that private citizens can voice their religious beliefs to a Christian magazine and have government officials say that they are not welcome in their town. That is not government’s place to try to cause harm to businesses because of the owner’s personal religious views. I don’t see where that would have happened against any other religion besides Christianity. So, again, I restate- the movement yesterday was a voice for freedom of speech and freedom of religion.

Leave a Reply

