Beautiful


Everyone likes to be told they are beautiful. I believe it’s programed inside of us.
We desire to be worth something and culture tells us there is worth in beauty.
Well… culture has it right… but culture also has it wrong.
There is worth in beauty…
but it’s not ours.

On my way to work today… the pop song by One Direction… “What Makes You Beautiful” came on.
In case you’ve been living in a cave… or just not into pop music… here is the music video.
Some lyrics from this song are….

If only you saw what I could see you’d understand why I want you so desperately
Right now I’m looking at you and I can’t believe
You don’t know 
Oh oh
You don’t know you’re beautiful!
Oh oh
That’s what makes you beautiful!

Every time this song comes one it gets me thinking.
Thinking about beauty…
thinking about how messed up it is that we think that someone that doesn’t see their beauty is beautiful.
Please… stick with me on this.

No one likes someone that is overconfident with their beauty.
We call that conceited… cocky.. arrogant… and unpleasant.
I am not talking about overconfidence.
I am talking about the knowledge of your beauty.

I believe this song is popular because it tells us that we are beautiful…
even when we don’t think we are.
However… THAT is not what makes us beautiful.
This is…

1 Corinthians 6:11
Some of you were once like that. But you were cleansed; you were made holy; you were made right with God by calling on the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.

When we realize that Jesus is what cleanses us from…
ugliness. filthiness. sin…
that is when we truly discover our beauty.

Our value is outside of ourselves.
The owner of a car doesn’t set the car’s value…
Kelly Blue Book does.
We cannot determine our own worth…
Jesus does.
He paid our sin debt with His life…
That is WHAT makes us beautiful.
Instead of listening to One Direction to find your beauty…
Try to listen to Francesca Battistelli and her song… Beautiful Beautiful 

I have come undone
But I have just begun
Changing by Your grace
Like sunlight burning at midnight
Making my life something so beautiful, beautiful
Mercy reaching to save me,
all that I need
You are so beautiful 

Here is her music video.

Remember… your beauty has nothing to do with you…
it has everything to do with that One that died for you.
He is what makes you beautiful.

Don’t procrastinate knowing that you are beautiful… not because of you… but because of Him… who died for you. 

If one person could tell you that you are beautiful… past or present… who is it… and why?

Beautiful

Leave a Reply

