Balancing Your Focus


Recently I have felt like I have been in a funk.
Do you ever feel that way?
A funk can be a difficult thing to explain.
Because funks can mean different things for different people.
A funk for me is simply a lack of focus.

As I think about my lack of focus… I ask myself…
“What areas am I not focusing on?”
As I ponder that question… here is what I realize…
Just because my focus is “off” in one area doesn’t mean it’s “off” in every other area.
Focusing is balance.

Maybe it’s the shortened day work week… I don’t know…
maybe I put more pressure on myself than I need to…
either way… it’s time to get things in check for me.

Here is my conclusion… with focus… there has got to be balance.
There are times when I need to focus on my marriage.
There are times when I need to focus on my job.
There are times when I need to focus on my relationship with my kids.

But no matter what I am focusing on… I must always focus on the
most important relationship in my life… my relationship with Jesus.

Luke 9:23-24
23 Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways,
take up your cross daily, and follow me. 
24 If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.

Taking up my cross daily requires focus.
A part of balancing focus is knowing where to place the most attention.
If I don’t place the most focus on my relationship with Christ then everything else becomes… well… funky.

When I get into a funk….
that is when I must focus…
not on me…
not on my marriage…
not on my job.
But on HIM…
Jesus.
He deserves my focus.

Don’t Procrastinate balancing your focus.
If most of your focus is on anything other than Jesus…
your balance is off. Get it back on track by focusing on Him.

What do you do to keep focus?

Balancing Your Focus

One thought on “Balancing Your Focus

Leave a Reply

