Social Media Conversation Vs. Real Conversation


We’re big advocates of conversation here at Procrastinating Tomorrow.
To read exactly how we feel about it… check out this post from February.

Today… I want to focus on one paragraph from that previous post:

I think social media has had a huge role in encouraging conversation.
But with that said… social media has also caused a lot of fights.
I have to be careful in conversation… especially when I am on Facebook.

I post this… because it is my struggle.
Social media wars… I mean… social media discussions.

The beauty of social media is that it is a place for conversation.
The curse of social media is that is a place for conversation.
It is a place for people to post opinions… political and religious.
It is a place for people share… victories and defeats.

I have had conversations on Facebook where I have debated things like God’s existence and abortion.
I have had conversations on Facebook that have celebrated and morned.

Something happens when a person sits down in front of a screen and talks with other people.
I think it’s because we are looking at a screen and not into someone eye balls.
We become… well… different.
All authenticity is thrown out the window.
It’s a transformation as heroic as The Incredible Hulk.
And a buzz kill as vicious as Superman back to Clark Kent.

Today I want to avoid being the Incredible Hulk on social media.
That’s not who I am.
I want to be me… plan ol’… ordinary… me.

Don’t get me wrong… we still have the obligation to speak truth in love.
But the difference in Social Media Conversation vs. Real Conversation is…
Love.

Ephesians 4:15
15 But speaking the truth in love, let us grow in every way into Him who is the head—Christ.

It’s just as difficult to portray sarcasm on social media as it is to portray love on social media.
I can try my best to debate in love on social media… but I all I do is come across as a jerk…
no matter how hard I try not to.

Social Media Conversation is good… but if it becomes our only conversation… we are doomed.

Don’t procrastinate REAL CONVERSATION in your life.

Life is more enjoyable with it. 

What do you do to prevent yourself turning into The Incredible Hulk on social media?

Social Media Conversation Vs. Real Conversation

Leave a Reply

