The Dreaded Question


Every time you meet someone for the first time there is this question that comes up…
“What do you do for a living?”
For most people… it’s easy to answer.
Others… not so much.

I consider myself to fall into the category of “not so much”.
Let’s be honest… there are answers to this question that most people don’t want to hear.
Dentists.
Assassins.
Pastors.
Three professions that make most people cringe when they find out it’s what you do.

I have a confession…
I hate this question.
As soon as this question comes up… all authenticity is usually out the window.
It’s crazy how someone’s vocabulary can change in a matter of seconds.
To be honest… I would rather someone continue using swear words in a conversation
than try to pretend they’re someone they’re not.
I want to get to know them for who they are…
not for who they think I want them to be.

The problem with someone being who they think I want them to be
is that I never really get to know them.
They become uncomfortable around me.
I think that they are someone they really are not.
The potential friendship is doomed from the start… all because it’s based on a lie.

I believe God desires for us to be authentic.
Jesus said this to the woman at the well…

John 4:23-24
But the time is coming—indeed it’s here now—when true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth. The Father is looking for those who will worship him that way. For God is Spirit, so those who worship him must worship in spirit and in truth.”

No one likes a phony.
In every thing you do… every conversation you have…
every song you sing… every prayer you pray… be real.
Don’t procrastinate being yourself… your REAL self.

What questions make you cringe?
What makes it difficult for you to be yourself?

The Dreaded Question

3 thoughts on “The Dreaded Question

Leave a Reply

