Audience of One


There are many types of services when it comes to style of worship.
There’s the service with hymnals…
the service with electric drums…
the service with pipe organs…
and the service with hands raised.

I’ve been in all of these services.
I enjoy them all because I enjoy worship through singing.
It prepares me to worship during my week… the worship with my life.
But there is one worship service type that I cannot deny I enjoy the most.

The “lose yourself in the worship” type of service.
You know the ones…
the service where you forget that there is anyone else in the room.
As far as you can tell… it’s just you… singing to your King.

I love it when that happens.
Most of the time… my arms are raised….
most of the time… my eyes are closed….
most of the time… it doesn’t matter if I sing the wrong lyrics.
It’s just me and God… and nothing else matters.

I think that’s the way God likes for us to worship.
No burdens… because they lie at His feet.
No worries… because our thoughts are on Him.
No concerns about what we look like… because we sing to an Audience on One.

The Bible says in 2 Samuel 6:14…

And David danced before the LORD with all his might, wearing a priestly garment.

David’s priestly garment is said to have been nothing but a linen cloth.
David was practically naked before the Ark of the Covenant which symbolized the presence of God.
David lost himself in his worship so much so that he could care less what he looked like.

I believe there is still a fine line here when it comes to our worship.
The fine line of losing yourself in your worship and not distracting others in theirs.
How can they forget anyone else is in the room if you are distracting their worship?

When I lose myself in my worship… I am singing… hands raised… eyes closed.
However… I realize there is a time and a place for that.
I have been in some services where having my hands raised wasn’t welcomed.
So I didn’t raise them in reverence for the service… I couldn’t distract the others in their worship.
But even there lies a fine line.
At what point does our worship become unhindered?
Then I realized… worship becomes unhindered when it comes from your heart.
Worship is an act of the heart… it really has nothing to do with what we look like.

Jeremiah 32:39
And I will give them one heart and one purpose: to worship me forever, for their own good and for the good of all their descendants. 

This is why it’s so important to lose yourself in your worship… it exposes your heart.

Don’t procrastinate any longer… this weekend…
in your worship experience…
lose yourself … and sing to your Audience of One.

Which worship service type do you prefer?
Why? 

Audience of One

Leave a Reply

