Taking Back Tuesday


Today is Fat Tuesday.
The day before Ash Wednesday… the beginning of the season of Lent.
I like to call today… A Day of Gluttony.

I remember when I was in college working at Auto Magic… a car wash in Springfield, Mo.
Many co-workers of mine would get excited for Pub Crawls on Fat Tuesday.
It was a day to drink to your hearts content… or you pass out whichever came first.
Fat Tuesday is that one last opportunity to be a glutton to sin before the holy season.
Who cares if you have to go to Ash Wednesday service with a head ache… isn’t that what the ashes on the forehead are for?
No… no that’s not at all what they are for.

As I thought about Fat Tuesday today… I did what everyone does after a deep thought… I tweeted it.

The quote by Jesus is found in 1 Peter 1:16.
Holiness is something to be desired… except on Fat Tuesday… we want nothing to do with holiness.
Jesus didn’t say… “Be holy for I am holy… unless it’s Fat Tuesday.”
Nor did Jesus say “Take up your cross… except on Fat Tuesday” in Luke 9:23.
He said… “Take up your cross daily and follow me.”

Today… on Fat Tuesday… I am making a pledge.
A pledge to take back Tuesday… for holiness.

My theme passage for this day is Philippians 3:18-19 which says….

18 For I have often told you, and now say again with tears, that many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19Their end is destruction; their god is their stomach; their glory is in their shame. They are focused on earthly things
In a world that focuses on earthly things…
I will focus on the heavenly.
In a world where authenticity is absent…
I will be real… on a daily basis… not just on Sundays.
In a world where gluttony is king…
I will put Christ on my throne.
In a world that says “I will clean up my act tomorrow.”
I will live for today.
This is my Fat Tuesday pledge…
A pledge to be different.
Will you join me?
Don’t procrastinate holiness… live for today. 
 

Taking Back Tuesday

Leave a Reply

