Scars


The past few weeks have been crazy for me.
The good kind of crazy.
The crazy that impacts the world.
The crazy that has nothing to do with you.
The crazy that energizes and drains you all at the same time.

A little over a week ago I posted about Heart Wrenching Hope.
The little girl that I wrote that post about… went home to be with Jesus last Thursday.
It’s been a tough time.
But in the midst of this tough time… God has brought healing.
But often times healing doesn’t come without scars.

We all have scars….
Check out one of my ugliest…


But I have realized this week…
Our ugliest scars are not always visible.
Sometimes they are so deep that even we don’t know that they are there.

The loss of this little girl has left many scars.
Scars that are the result of pain.
Scars that are the result of suffering.
Scars left by grief.

But as I prepared to speak at her funeral I realized something…
Scars… have given us hope… faith… and healing.
However… those scars… even though come to us freely…  still cost so much.

These scars cost Jesus His life.
He left home in Heaven with His Father… to deliver… scars.
Scars that heal.
Scars that cleanse.
Scars that deliver.

Destini had something she liked to say… “I love you more.”
I closed her funeral with this…
“Destini has finally met her match.  I’m sure when she got to Heaven and she met Jesus for the first time that she said ‘Jesus, I love you more.’
But I picture Jesus looking at Destini in the eyes and reaching out…


Then I hear Him saying… ‘No Destini… I love you more.'”

The past week and a half has left a mark on my life.
The impact of this eleven year old girl in death will forever be remembered.
She has brought more people to Christ in her death than many people do in a lifetime.
I praise God that He chose me to walk her and her family through this… I am so unworthy.

Isaiah 53:5-6
 5 But he was pierced for our rebellion, 
      crushed for our sins. 
   He was beaten so we could be whole. 
      He was whipped so we could be healed. 
 6 All of us, like sheep, have strayed away. 
      We have left God’s paths to follow our own. 
   Yet the LORD laid on him 
      the sins of us all. 

Don’t procrastinate the healing that Jesus offers you… accept it today.

What do the scars of Jesus… mean to you?

Scars

Leave a Reply

