A Post to Boast


Matthew 4:4
But Jesus told him, “No! The Scriptures say
‘People do not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.

I’m no expert on fasting.
Which is one of the many things that makes fasting so beautiful.
You don’t have to be an expert on it to do it.

I want to be careful with this post.
The bible is clear on not drawing attention to yourself for fasting.
This post is not to glorify Adam… but to glorify the God Adam worships.

In Galatians 6:14 the Bible says…

 14 As for me, may I never boast about anything except the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. Because of that cross,
my interest in this world has been crucified, and the world’s interest in me has also died.

Because of the cross of Christ Jesus we are able to fast.
Because of the cross of Christ Jesus we are able to reap
the benefits of a fast.
Because of the cross of Christ Jesus we are able to live on the
Word of God and not by bread alone.

It is in the cross of Christ Jesus that I can boast today.
I can boast that for the past 21 days… I have lived on God’s Word.
I can boast that for the past 21 days… I have live on prayer.

I hesitate even writing how many days I have done this.
This post is not about me.
But about the cross of Christ Jesus.

Through this time… God has blessed my wife with a new job.
A job that nurses right out of nursing school are not supposed to get.
She got it.
She takes her boards in a week from Monday.

It has exposed sin in my life.
Sin that I have confessed…. to God… and to others.
This has been the biggest blessing in all of this…. but also the most painful.

Last Sunday night at youth group… we had 2 students accept Christ.
This month in our church we have seen 13 people come to know Christ….
and the month’s not over.
I believe this is due to the prayer and fasting of people in our church.

As Lecrae puts it in his song “Shadows
“And I will boast in the cross, I boast in His name
I will boast in the sunshine, boast in His reign.”

God reigns over me.
Not because I deserve it.
But because He still responds to His Children.
He wants to respond to you.
All you have to do is reach out to Him.
Don’t procrastinate reaching out to God…
and He won’t procrastinate responding back to you.

When was the last time God responded to you?
How?

Please share.

A Post to Boast

Leave a Reply

