Michael W. Smith Had it Wrong


Recently I had an epiphany.
It was something I have always known.
I was on Facebook when it hit me.
I bet I’ve had Facebook friends that are no longer my Facebook friends.
Not because I “unfriended” them.
Because they “unfriended” me.
But there was a reason I knew this…
I too have”unfriended” people before.

It’s an amazing thing this thing we call Facebook.
Think about all that we have now that we didn’t have just 5 years ago because of Facebook.
Mafia Wars.
FarmVille.
CityVille.
And of course… the art of “unfriending” someone.

Before Facebook… people hashed things out.
Now there’s emotion behind the click of a mouse.
And just like that your friend is gone.

I know… some of you wish it were that easy.
What ever happened to Friends are Friends Forever?
Que Michael…

It’s a novel idea Michael… but in the Facebook world…
it’s no longer a reality.
Friends are no longer Friends Forever.
Thank you Mark Zuckerberg.

Because of you a friend can now say never
and welcomes end all the time.

But let’s be honest…
Facebook has only made this easier.

I mean… you can unfriend someone without them even knowing.
The only way that they know is if they go to your page and can’t leave you a comment.
If you plan on unfriending anyone… make sure you’re not having a birthday anytime soon.
Everyone knows that comments come out of the wood work on your birthday.

Here is what I have learned from this whole epiphany.
It’s no big deal.
The friends that unfriend you…
did it for a reason.
Let it go.
But let it go in love.
Don’t pout about it.
Don’t even mention it.
Just let it go.
It’s okay.

The Bible has a lot to say about friendships.
It even has a lot to say about enemies.
Love your enemies.
Love your neighbors.
Jesus is a friend that sticks closer than a brother.
He never leaves you or forsakes you.

The next time a Facebook friend unfriends you….
Remember that Jesus wants to be your friend that never unfriends you.

Have you ever “unfriended” anyone?

Have you ever realized that someone “unfriended” you?

How did you respond?

Let it go so you can live for today.

Michael W. Smith Had it Wrong

Leave a Reply

