No Room



Luke 2:7
7 And she brought forth her firstborn Son, and wrapped Him in swaddling cloths,
and laid Him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.

Today I was driving in my truck when I saw a sign.
It said… “She swaddled him… laid him in a manger… because there was no room in the inn.”

As I drove passed that sign I thought about the few times
that I have looked for a hotel only to come up empty.
It’s frustrating.
Usually it’s because of a big conference or a tournament.

The most recent memory I have of this was last month.
My parents came to town to stay the night.
They looked for a hotel room… only to be shut out.
By hunters… coon hunters.
Every year our small town in Southern Illinois hosts a Nation Raccoon Hunting Competition.
They ended up driving 22 miles south to get a hotel.

I thought about that frustration.
Then it hit me.
To this very day… Jesus still experiences this.
No room.

No room in my day.
No room in my family.
No room in my life.
No room.

It’s because I’m busy.
I’m stubborn.
I’m calloused.
I’m sinful.

I think of Mary and Joseph.
All they wanted was a warm cozy place.
So did the rest of Bethlehem.

I can’t help but to think…
If only someone knew what was about to go down…
they would have given up their room for the Messiah.
Unfortunately that’s not true.
Because people don’t make room for Jesus.

He’s uncomfortable.
He’s disruptive.
He’s convicting.

I must make room for Jesus.
This isn’t a natural thing.

This Christmas… I hope you make room for Jesus.
After all… He has made room for you.

Don’t procrastinate spending time with Him.
Live for today… and follow Jesus.

How do you struggle making room for Jesus in your life?

No Room

Leave a Reply

