Adoration Moments


There are three moments in my life that I can remember really adoring something.
None were because of a Christmas gift.
None were on my birthday.
All were significant.
Significant moments that demanded my adoration.

The word adoration means… fervent and devoted love.
However… there is another type of adoration.
The act of paying honor, as to a divine being; worship.

What is the difference between the two?
Is there a difference?

I happened to get pictures of each adoration moment in my life.
Because they were significant.
The first one….I adore her.
I do things to show her my adoration.
However… I do not worship her.

We adore her.
She is the apple of our eye.
However… we do not worship her.


We adore him.
He is the apple of our other eye.
However… we do not worship him.

All three I call adoration moments of my life.
None of which demand my worship.
There are three more adoration moments that do demand my worship.
They didn’t happen in my lifetime.
They happened over 2,000 years ago.

The first was a birth.
The birth of a King.
A King of all Kings.
God in the flesh.

Matthew 2:1-2
Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea, during the reign of King Herod. About that time some wise men2 from eastern lands arrived in Jerusalem, asking, 2 “Where is the newborn king of the Jews? We saw his star as it rose, and we have come to worship him.”

The second was a death.
The death of a Lamb.
The Lamb of God.
Death…. for my sin.

Matthew 27:35-37
35 After they had nailed him to the cross, the soldiers gambled for his clothes by throwing dice. 36 Then they sat around and kept guard as he hung there. 37 A sign was fastened to the cross above Jesus’ head, announcing the charge against him. It read: “This is Jesus, the King of the Jews.”

The third was a resurrection.
The resurrection of a Savior.
Savior of my soul.
Savior because of His grace.

Matthew 28:5-7
5 Then the angel spoke to the women. “Don’t be afraid!” he said. “I know you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. 6 He isn’t here! He is risen from the dead, just as he said would happen. Come, see where his body was lying. 7 And now, go quickly and tell his disciples that he has risen from the dead, and he is going ahead of you to Galilee. You will see him there. Remember what I have told you.”


The first three adoration moments demand my fervent and devoted love.
The second three adoration moments demand my act of paying honor, as to a divine being; worship.

This is why we celebrate the birth of Jesus.
He is our Adoration.

He is our King.
He is our Lamb.
He is our Savior.

This Christmas… don’t procrastinate adoration.
Adore our King.
Adore our Lamb.
Adore our Savior.

What do you do to show your adoration to Jesus at Christmas time?


Adoration Moments

Leave a Reply

