Connections



I’m a networker.
Not the computer type.
The people type.
I love making connections with people.

A wise man once said….
“It’s not what you know… it’s who you know.”

Jesus was a networker.
He connected with people on the deepest of levels.
Those people He really connected with… he taught how to connect with others.

Matthew 4:18 says…
18 One day as Jesus was walking along the shore of the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers—Simon, also called Peter, and Andrew—throwing a net into the water, for they fished for a living. 19 Jesus called out to them,“Come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people!” 20 And they left their nets at once and followed him.

Jesus connected with Peter and Andrew.
Then He taught them.

This morning as I was putting Anna on the bus her bus driver had a story for me.
She said yesterday she was in the school’s kitchen when two little arms wrapped around her waist.
They were Anna’s arms.
She said Anna said… “I love you… I want to stay in with you from recess.”
Her bus driver went on to tell Anna, “Sweetie… you really need to go outside with your class.”

But then her bus driver said something that smacked me in the forehead.
“Her and I have really connected”…  the bus driver told me.
Then I thought about the time that I taught Anna how to connect with people.
It wasn’t over breakfast.
It wasn’t on our last daddy daughter date.
It was never a one time deal.
It has been a process.
A process of watching.
A process of listening.
A process of caring.

I’m proud of my little girl.
She’s connecting with people.
That is a valuable thing.
But what is even more valuable is making those connections intentional.
Intentionally make connections with the purpose of telling them the Good News.
That’s what it means to “fish for people”.
Ultimately that  is my goal.
To teach my kids what Jesus taught.
To connect with people on the deepest of levels.

This process is ongoing… it cannot be procrastinated.
Live for today… Connect with others.

Who have you connected with recently and how?
Please share.

Connections

One thought on “Connections

Leave a Reply

