The Truth Within the Lie



A couple of years ago I became acquainted with an organization I instantly fell in love with…
To Write Love On Her Arms.
I discovered it through a friend’s t-shirt and of course google.
Upon visiting www.twloha.com  I received an education.
An education on suicide… depression… and cutting.

Over the last couple of years I have used To Write Love On Her Arms as a resource.
You see… as you youth minister… I realize just how much an organization like this is needed.
They do a good job in creating something that starving… lonely… hurt kids want to be a part of…
Community.

Over the past 4 months over 5 million people have had their eyes opened by one kid… Jonah Mowry.
He shot a video that has gone viral.
In case you haven’t seen it…

Sad huh?
Well… it only took 3 to 4 months for that video to finally hit Facebook… now it’s all over the place.
There is only one problem.
Now… everyone is saying it’s all a lie.
Probably because there is another video done by what appears to be Jonah Mowry saying his whole school loves him.
How does this make us feel?
Is the kid a fake?
Is the kid telling the truth?

The truth within the lie is this…. it doesn’t matter.
I hope the kid has experienced growth.
I hope the kid has had people support him.
I hope the kid feels loved.

After I watched the video this is what I said to myself…
That is why I do what I do.
So kids don’t have to feel that way.
But truth be told…
There are kids all over the place that feel this way.
And they aren’t the first to feel this way.

Matthew 9:36
When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them because they were confused and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. 

When Jesus saw kids like this…
He had compassion.
Compassion that moved Him to action.
Later on in Matthew 14 that action was healing their sick.
Not to leave out the ultimate act of compassion… death on the cross.

Bullied or not bullied.
Loved or hated.
Gay or straight.
Fat of skinny.
Happy or depressed.

Jesus had compassion for them.

When I watch this video… it reminds me of the compassion Jesus has.
For him.
For you.
For me.

Compassion that I am obligated to share with others.

What does the compassion that you share with others look like in your life?
What do you do to share the love of Jesus?

Don’t procrastinate compassion… live it.

The Truth Within the Lie

Leave a Reply

