Dear Mr.Tebow… I’m sorry


It’s been said… “Haters gonna hate.”
In some ways… I’ve been a hater.
But please note… this blog post was not meant to hate Tim Tebow.
It was meant to ask the question what do we do with the criticism that he’s getting.

Well…. now I know.
You see… Matt Barkley… USC’s quarterback isn’t criticized like Tim Tebow.
Some would say its because he is still in college… that’s false.
He’s not criticized because he’s not as bold.

I have a confession… yesterday… I stumbled again.
I text into a sports talk show in St.Louis.
It was a segment called “I’m Just Sayin”.
Here is my text…
“I like the Cubs signing David DeJesus… I mean DeTebow… Just sayin”

It was a play off of “Jesus” being in DeJesus… but it was also falling into the trap.
The trap of ridiculing Tim Tebow for taking up his cross.
Luke 9 says this…

Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me.
If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.

First… I would like to say a huge… I am sorry Tim Tebow for falling into this trap.
Second… I would like to say an even bigger… Thank You Tim Tebow.
Thank you for denying yourself when most professional athletes today are full of themselves.
Thank you for making us uncomfortable.
Thank you for losing your life for the sake of Jesus Christ.
I wish my walk was more like yours… and I’m a youth pastor for goodness sakes.

Some of you may be saying… I thought you came across as criticizing Tebow in your Tebow or Matt Barkley Post….
Why the change?
This article on… “Why We Hate Tim Tebow“…. opened my eyes.
I know… sad isn’t it?
I had to have an article on Fox Sports open my eyes?
But I want to share a paragraph with you….

I could not figure out what was causing this onslaught of venom for a guy almost everybody claims to like, and I finally decided it is more about us. He makes us uncomfortable. He is a reminder that the blue-red, liberal-conservative fight over taking God out of everyday life is intellectually dishonest. He is too good. Tebow is proof that God goes comfortably into whatever arena of your life you wish to take Him.

Some people in the media are getting it, Tim.
Thank you for your persistence.
Please… never stop.

Another piece of this article mention the new phenomenon much like planking called…  “Tebowing”.
Check out a lot of pictures like the ones above at www.tebowing.com.
This kid… really is something special.
Want proof from the Fox Sports article?

 “I find it especially telling that Tebow rarely lectures and does not fight back. He did not create Tebowing, nor is he responsible for it blowing up hipster style. It was kind of cool, I thought, after hearing a kid had said he was “Tebowing” while getting chemo.”

All this hate… for one man taking a stand.
Why?  Well… look at what Jesus said about why in the gospel of John chapter 15…

 “If the world hates you, remember that it hated me first. The world would love you as one of its own if you belonged to it, but you are no longer part of the world. I chose you to come out of the world, so it hates you.”

It’s no surprise to Tim Tebow that the media criticizes him.
But Christians… should know better.  I should know better.
For that… I’m sorry.

We all make mistakes… when we do… don’t procrastinate admitting it.
Live for today by admitting it.

 
 

Dear Mr.Tebow… I’m sorry

2 thoughts on “Dear Mr.Tebow… I’m sorry

Leave a Reply

