Thorns


I struggle.  I struggle constantly.
Name it… I probably struggle with it.
If I don’t… someone else does.
Struggles are universal… everyone has them.
That is why…. we cannot give off the false perception that everything is always okay.
When we do… we lie.
When we do… we cheat others out of the blessing of knowing everything is going to be okay.
We cheat others out of hope.

My grandfather was a World War II airplane mechanic.
He loved airplanes.
I can see him in the picture above… not because he is there… but because that is who he was.
I on the other hand am no mechanic.
So on Sunday when my truck wouldn’t start… I cussed.
But in that moment… God was teaching me.
He was teaching me the struggle… the struggle of working out my salvation.

Check out what Paul says in Philippians 2:12-13 about working out our salvation.

 So then, my dear friends, just as you have always obeyed, not only in my presence, but now even more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. 13 For it is God who is working in you, [enabling you] both to will and to act for His good purpose.

The Apostle Paul who penned the words above… had a struggle.
He called it his thorn.
We all have thorns
Some are public thorns…. some are private thorns… either way… they are still thorns… struggles.

It is God that gives us the ability to work things out… not ourselves.
So when I cussed… that was me… failing.
But it was also God… desiring for me to succeed.
When we struggle with our thorns… it is God’s desire for us to succeed.

I have to succeed… I have no choice.
For them….              Because they are watching.
And some day…
They will struggle too.

Please know that it’s okay to struggle.
It’s not God’s plan for you to fail in your struggle.
It’s God’s plan for you to succeed in your struggle.
Don’t procrastinate success… live for it.

What is your thorn?
How do you succeed?

 

Thorns

One thought on “Thorns

Leave a Reply

